The Kansas City Chiefs ended up being the recent team to return to the Super bowl one season ~ winning the all however fail to safeguard the title.

You are watching: Denver broncos back to back super bowls

photo by Jamie Squire/Getty photos
The NFL will should keep wait to watch back-to-back Super bowl champions. The Tampa only Buccaneers finished the Kansas City Chiefs’ attempt at law so v a 31-9 victory in Super key 2021. With Bucs quarterback Tom Brady looking come play a few more seasons, Tampa bay may very well be the team to displace the Tom Brady-led 2003-04 brand-new England Patriots as the latest back-to-back winners.

Let"s take it a look earlier at the history of repeat Super key winners.

1966-67 eco-friendly Bay Packers (Super Bowls 1 & 2)

It is no coincidence the the trophy provided to the NFL champion is named after Vince Lombardi, among the league"s legend coaches and the guy that led the Packers to victory in the first two at sight Bowls. (Of course, ago then that wasn"t recognized as the super Bowl, however rather the "AFL-NFL Championship Game.") Lombardi"s last game together Packers coach was the victory in Super key 2, finishing an incredible nine-season career throughout which his teams won five NFL championships, including the aforementioned two at sight Bowls.

1972-73 Miami dolphins (Super Bowls 7 & 8)

The 1972 Dolphins stay the just team in NFL background to finish a season v an untouched record, capping off their perfect project with a 14-7 success over Washington in Super bowl 7. The city that Miami wouldn"t need to wait long for an additional championship. The dolphins went 12-2 throughout the 1973 regular season and rolled v the playoffs, winning each of its three postseason games by 17 points.

1974-75 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 9 & 10) & 1978-79 Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowls 13 & 14)

The 1970s Steelers are taken into consideration one the the most leading teams in pro football history, winning four Super bowl titles in a six-season span. With this significant run, the franchise created itself as one of the league’s foremost empires — following in the footsteps the the 1940s Chicago Bears, 1950s’ Cleveland Browns, and the 1960s Packers. Lifebuoy by that is “Steel Curtain” defense and also the prolific arm of terry Bradshaw, the Steelers won 80 games (including playoffs) native 1974-79, by far the most of any team throughout that span.

1988-89 mountain Francisco 49ers (Super Bowls 23 & 24)

An offensive juggernaut led by Joe Montana and Jerry Rice, san Francisco started its run of back-to-back titles v a narrow 20-16 victory over the Cincinnati Bengals in supervisor 23. The 49ers then successfully safeguarded their championship with a 55-10 blowout that the Denver Broncos one year later, the largest margin of success in Super key history.

1992-93 Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowls 27 & 28)

Powered through the dynamic trio of troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith, the Cowboys dismantled the Buffalo receipt in Super key 27 by a 52-17 score to win the franchise’s first ring due to the fact that the late 1970s. Dallas experienced through the unavoidable Super key hangover in ~ the start of the 1993 season, dropping its first two games, prior to cruising to an additional NFC east title and also a 30-13 win over the bills in the big game for the second straight year.

See more: American Classic Car Barn Finds For Sale, 130 Barn Finds/ Classic Vintage Cars Ideas

1997-1998 Denver Broncos (Super Bowls 32 & 33)

The Broncos were the an initial AFC team to repeat as Super key winners due to the fact that the 1970s Steelers, beating the Packers for their an initial title and the Atlanta Falcons for their second one. Man Elway capped his hall of Fame career in storybook fashion, winning the MVP compensation in his final game on Feb. 1, 1999 following the Broncos’ 34-19 win in Super key 33.

2003-04 new England Patriots (Super Bowls 38 & 39)

The Patriots developed themselves as the NFL’s many recent empire with 3 Super bowl wins in four years during the at an early stage 2000s, consisting of back-to-back titles adhering to the 2003-04 seasons.